The Large Ball Game Hall in Prague Castle is a unique part of Prague Castle. The engravings in the peripheral walls show certain patterns as well as the artistic talents of the architects. The window and door frames are not the usual for the Prague Castle, with arched frames instead of the normal large squares.
The history of the Large Ball Game Hall is rather dramatic. From 1567 to 1569 the hall was located on the southern side of the Royal Garden. It served as a riding school and stable as well as for ball games until the 17th century. From the 17th century until the 20th century it served as a military storehouse until it was damaged beyond repair. In 1952 the complete reconstruction was finished but the hall remained closed to the public until 1989. Today its used primarily for exhibitions of art, concerts and social events.