The building was constructed according to a design by Oldřich Tyl and Josef Fuchs in 1925-1929. Sam´ple trade fairs were held here up until 1951, in 1974 this Funcionalist structure was destroyed by fire. After completition of reconstruction works, in 1995 the building became the home of the part of the National Gallery’s collection. The palace currently houses permanent exhibition of 19th and 20th Century Art which is unique in Europe both from the point of view of the period chosen and the interdisciplinary links. The exhibition includes also collection of 19th and 20th century French Art.